- What CSC Stands For
- Who Issues the CSC Credential
- Why the Full Name Matters for Exam Prep
- Anatomy of the Written Exam
- The Six Domains Behind the Acronym
- The Experience and Coursework Behind "Certified"
- Registration, Fees, and Validity
- Who Actually Earns a CSC
- A Focused Prep Timeline
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CSC stands for Certified Sous Chef, an American Culinary Federation credential - not any other industry's "CSC."
- The written exam has 100 multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes with a passing scaled score of 72.
- Cooking (37 questions) and Safety and Sanitation (25 questions) dominate the six-domain blueprint.
- Certification packages cost USD 250 for ACF members and USD 490 for nonmembers, plus practical costs.
What CSC Stands For
CSC stands for Certified Sous Chef, a professional culinary credential administered by the American Culinary Federation (ACF) through its Certification Commission. It is a mid-career kitchen leadership credential, positioned above entry-level line cook certifications and below Certified Executive Chef, designed to validate that a chef can supervise a shift or a station, manage food cost and safety, and lead a team under pressure. If you searched "what does CSC stand for" expecting a generic acronym answer, the short version is: it's a real, standards-based culinary certification, not a marketing label.
Because "CSC" is used by several unrelated credentialing bodies in other industries, it's worth being precise from the start. On this site, and in every fact referenced here, CSC means Certified Sous Chef exactly as defined by ACF. For a broader introduction beyond the acronym itself, see What Is CSC? and CSC Meaning.
Who Issues the CSC Credential
The American Culinary Federation is the sole certifying body for the CSC. ACF's Certification Commission sets the eligibility rules, the exam blueprint, the passing standards, and the renewal requirements. This matters for anyone comparing certifications online: the CSC is not issued by a state board, a private testing vendor, or a generic "chef association." It is tied specifically to ACF's culinary certification ladder, which also includes credentials for cooks, executive chefs, and pastry professionals.
If you want a deeper explanation of the credential itself - its purpose, structure, and how it fits into a culinary career - read CSC Certification and What Is CSC Certification?. For the practical question of who is eligible to sit for it, CSC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify breaks down every pathway in detail.
Why the Full Name Matters for Exam Prep
Understanding that CSC means Certified Sous Chef - not a generic supervisory title - shapes how you should prepare. The exam isn't testing abstract management theory; it's testing the specific responsibilities of a working sous chef: running a station or shift, enforcing food safety, managing costs, training staff, and executing both savory and baking/pastry fundamentals well enough to supervise others doing them. Every question on the written exam traces back to that real job description.
This is also why studying for the CSC differs from studying for a generic food-safety or management certificate. The blueprint blends technical cooking knowledge with supervisory and financial competencies in a single 100-question exam. Candidates who treat it purely as a "cooking test" or purely as a "management test" tend to underprepare for half the content. For a full breakdown of how difficult this balance makes the exam in practice, see How Hard Is the CSC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Anatomy of the Written Exam
The CSC written examination is delivered through the ACF Online Learning Center with an approved proctor physically present - it is not an unsupervised, take-anywhere test. Key mechanics every candidate should internalize:
- Format: 100 multiple-choice questions
- Time limit: 90 minutes
- Passing score: a scaled score of 72
- Book policy: closed book
- Allowed tools: a basic nonprogrammable calculator and scratch paper
- Validity: written results remain valid for two years, during which the practical exam must be completed
Note that certification itself requires both the written and practical examinations; this site focuses on preparing candidates for the written portion. The practical exam runs 2 hours with a 75% passing criterion, and its results stay valid for one year - a shorter clock than the written score, which is worth planning around.
Key Takeaway
Because the written score only stays valid for two years and the practical only one year, schedule your practical exam soon after passing the written test rather than treating them as unrelated milestones.
For the exact scoring mechanics and what "72" actually means on a scaled score, read CSC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. For scheduling logistics and testing windows, see CSC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
The Six Domains Behind the Acronym
ACF's written exam blueprint, revised September 1, 2021, organizes content into six subject areas. Two of them carry a disproportionate share of the 100 questions, which should directly influence how you allocate study time.
Domain 1: Cooking
The largest domain on the exam, contributing 37 questions. Covers cooking methods, technique execution, and the judgment a sous chef needs to supervise a line or station.
- Highest question weight of all six domains
- Blends hands-on technique knowledge with supervisory judgment calls
Domain 2: Safety and Sanitation
The second-largest domain, contributing 25 questions. Reflects the mandatory 30-hour Food Safety and Sanitation course requirement and its central role in daily kitchen supervision.
- Directly tied to one of the three mandatory 30-hour prerequisite courses
- Refresher training required if coursework is older than five years
Domain 3: Baking and Pastry
Tests baseline competency in baking and pastry fundamentals a sous chef may need to oversee even outside a dedicated pastry role.
Domain 4: Nutrition
Corresponds to the mandatory 30-hour Nutrition course and covers nutritional principles relevant to menu and kitchen decisions.
Domain 5: Finance
Covers cost control and financial concepts a shift or station supervisor needs to manage food and labor costs responsibly.
Domain 6: Team Management and Supervision
Corresponds to the mandatory 30-hour Supervisory Management course; covers leading and training kitchen staff.
Cooking and Safety and Sanitation together account for 62 of the 100 questions - well over half the exam. A study plan that shortchanges either one is taking on unnecessary risk. For a domain-by-domain study breakdown with more depth than a single-page overview can offer, see CSC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
| Domain | Known Question Count | Related Mandatory Course |
|---|---|---|
| Cooking | 37 | - |
| Safety and Sanitation | 25 | Food Safety and Sanitation (30 hrs) |
| Baking and Pastry | Not separately specified | - |
| Nutrition | Not separately specified | Nutrition (30 hrs) |
| Finance | Not separately specified | - |
| Team Management and Supervision | Not separately specified | Supervisory Management (30 hrs) |
The Experience and Coursework Behind "Certified"
The "Certified" in Certified Sous Chef isn't just a title - it's backed by verified experience and coursework requirements before ACF will even let you sit for the exam. Candidates generally need two years supervising a shift or food station, with that qualifying experience occurring within the preceding ten years. ACF recognizes several entry routes:
- An ACFEF Culinary Arts Program Certificate plus four years of entry-level culinary experience
- An associate culinary degree plus three years of experience
- An ACFEF apprenticeship combining 4,000 on-the-job hours with 420 hours of related instruction
On top of experience, candidates must complete three mandatory 30-hour courses: Nutrition, Food Safety and Sanitation, and Supervisory Management. If any of these were completed more than five years ago, an eight-hour refresher is required before certification. This is a meaningful planning point - verify your course dates well before you register, not the week before your exam window.
Full eligibility detail, including how experience is documented and which routes fit which career backgrounds, lives in CSC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Registration, Fees, and Validity
The certification package costs USD 250 for ACF members and USD 490 for nonmembers. This covers the certification process itself; practical exam host-site fees and food expenses are billed separately and vary by test site. Once earned, the CSC credential is valid for five years. Renewal requires 80 continuing education hours (CEHs), with at least 25% of those hours coming from volunteer, leadership, or competition activities, plus current food-safety training and any applicable refresher courses. Members with uninterrupted ACF membership across the full five-year cycle can have recertification fees waived.
For a line-by-line breakdown of every cost involved - membership math, practical exam expenses, and renewal budgeting - see CSC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Who Actually Earns a CSC
The candidates pursuing a CSC are typically working cooks and junior sous chefs who already supervise a station or shift and want formal recognition - and often a documented qualification - for that responsibility. Because eligibility requires real supervisory experience plus specific coursework, the credential tends to attract people already embedded in hotel, restaurant, country club, or institutional kitchens rather than culinary students fresh out of school.
Employers who value ACF credentials use the CSC as a signal that a candidate has verified experience across cooking, food safety, and basic kitchen supervision - not just time served. If you're weighing whether pursuing the credential is worth the cost and study time relative to your career goals, Is the CSC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CSC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis address that question directly. For a sense of where the credential can open doors, CSC Jobs covers common roles and settings.
A Focused Prep Timeline
Given the domain weighting - Cooking at 37 questions and Safety and Sanitation at 25 - a sensible prep sequence front-loads those two areas before moving to the remaining four.
Cooking
- Review cooking methods and technique judgment tied to the largest domain (37 questions)
- Work through practice questions on the main practice test site to identify weak technique areas
Safety and Sanitation
- Revisit Food Safety and Sanitation course material, especially if it's approaching the five-year refresher mark
- Drill the second-highest weighted domain (25 questions) until recall is fast under time pressure
Nutrition, Finance, Baking and Pastry
- Cover the three mid-weight domains together since none dominates the question count individually
Team Management and Supervision + Full Simulation
- Review supervisory management concepts from your 30-hour course
- Take a full 100-question, 90-minute timed simulation on the practice exam platform to rehearse pacing against the scaled score of 72
This sequencing isn't generic - it's built directly from the known question distribution across the six domains. For a more exhaustive week-by-week plan with resource recommendations, see CSC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and keep CSC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts on hand for last-minute review. If you want context on how other candidates perform before finalizing your timeline, CSC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows is worth reading early in your prep, not the night before your exam.
Frequently Asked Questions
CSC stands for Certified Sous Chef, a credential issued by the American Culinary Federation through its Certification Commission. It recognizes chefs who can supervise a shift or station and meet ACF's experience, coursework, and exam requirements.
No. On souschefexam.com, CSC refers exclusively to Certified Sous Chef through the American Culinary Federation. Other industries use the same three letters for unrelated credentials with different certifying bodies, fees, and requirements.
No. Full certification requires both the written examination (100 questions, 90 minutes, passing scaled score of 72) and a separate 2-hour practical examination with a 75% passing criterion.
The CSC credential is valid for five years. Renewal requires 80 continuing education hours, including at least 25% from volunteer, leadership, or competition activities, plus current food-safety training.
Cooking (37 questions) and Safety and Sanitation (25 questions) together make up more than half the exam, making them the highest-priority domains, followed by Baking and Pastry, Nutrition, Finance, and Team Management and Supervision.