- What Is CSC Certification?
- Who Issues the CSC and Why It Matters
- Eligibility Routes and Required Coursework
- Written Exam Structure and Format
- The Six CSC Exam Domains
- The Practical Examination
- Registration, Fees, and Package Costs
- Certification Validity and Renewal
- Who Hires CSC-Certified Cooks
- Building a Realistic Prep Timeline
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CSC stands for Certified Sous Chef, issued by the American Culinary Federation's Certification Commission.
- The written exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, with a passing scaled score of 72.
- Cooking (37 questions) and Safety and Sanitation (25 questions) dominate the written blueprint.
- Certification requires both a written exam and a separate 2-hour practical exam scored at 75%.
What Is CSC Certification?
CSC stands for Certified Sous Chef, a professional culinary credential administered by the American Culinary Federation (ACF) through its Certification Commission. It's designed for working cooks who already supervise a shift or a food station and want formal recognition of their cooking competency, kitchen leadership, and food safety knowledge. Unlike a culinary school diploma, CSC certification is earned through a combination of documented experience, mandatory coursework, and two separate exams - a written test and a hands-on practical assessment.
This site focuses specifically on preparing for the written CSC examination. If you're just getting oriented, our companion pages on what CSC actually stands for and what the CSC credential means for a working cook's career are good starting points before you dive into blueprint details.
Who Issues the CSC and Why It Matters
The American Culinary Federation is the professional body behind CSC, and it maintains the credential through its Certification Commission. That's a meaningful detail: several unrelated credentials in other industries also use the initials "CSC," so if you're researching this exam, make sure any resource you're reading is talking about the culinary version specifically. For a deeper answer on the acronym itself, see what does CSC stand for and what is a CSC.
ACF certification carries weight in professional kitchens because it verifies a specific combination of supervised experience, structured coursework, and tested knowledge - not just time served. That combination is why hiring managers in hotels, country clubs, healthcare food service, and independent restaurants often list ACF certifications as a preferred (sometimes required) qualification for sous chef and station-lead roles.
Eligibility Routes and Required Coursework
Before you can even sit for the CSC written exam, you need to meet experience and education prerequisites. Candidates generally need two years of supervisory experience over a shift or food station, with that qualifying experience occurring within the preceding ten years. ACF recognizes multiple entry paths into the certification track:
- An ACFEF Culinary Arts Program Certificate plus four years of entry-level culinary experience
- An associate culinary degree plus three years of qualifying experience
- An ACFEF apprenticeship combining 4,000 on-the-job hours with 420 hours of related classroom instruction
On top of the experience pathway, candidates must complete three mandatory 30-hour courses: Nutrition, Food Safety and Sanitation, and Supervisory Management. If any of these were completed more than five years ago, ACF requires an eight-hour refresher course before you can apply. This is one of the most commonly overlooked steps in the process - plan your paperwork timeline as carefully as your study timeline. Our full breakdown at CSC Requirements 2026 walks through documentation specifics in more detail.
Key Takeaway
Confirm your coursework dates before registering. A Food Safety or Supervisory Management course completed more than five years ago requires an eight-hour refresher, which can delay your exam date if discovered late.
Written Exam Structure and Format
The CSC written examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions administered in 90 minutes through the ACF Online Learning Center. It's a closed-book exam - no reference materials - though a basic nonprogrammable calculator and scratch paper are permitted for calculations involving yields, costs, or ratios. Because the exam is delivered online, you'll need an approved proctor who is physically present with you during the session; this isn't a remote-monitoring webcam setup, so scheduling logistics matter.
Passing requires a scaled score of 72. Scaled scoring means your raw number of correct answers is converted to a standardized scale, so you can't simply calculate "72 out of 100 questions right" as your target. For a full explanation of how scaled scoring works and what performance range you should aim for on practice tests, see CSC Passing Score 2026.
Written results are valid for two years, which matters if you fail the practical exam or delay scheduling it - you have a two-year window to complete the practical before your written score expires and you'd need to retest.
The Six CSC Exam Domains
ACF's handbook revision (effective September 1, 2021) organizes the written exam into six subject areas. Two of these domains carry a disproportionate share of the questions, and understanding that weighting should directly shape how you allocate study time.
Domain 1: Cooking
The single largest domain, contributing 37 of the 100 questions. This covers cooking methods, techniques, product identification, and fundamental culinary theory that a supervising cook is expected to know cold.
- Heat transfer methods and appropriate applications
- Protein, produce, and product fundamentals
- Menu and recipe execution knowledge
Domain 2: Safety and Sanitation
The second-largest domain at 25 questions. This tests food safety principles, sanitation protocols, and hazard prevention - directly tied to the mandatory 30-hour Food Safety and Sanitation course requirement.
- Temperature danger zones and holding requirements
- Cross-contamination prevention
- Regulatory and inspection basics
Domain 3: Baking and Pastry
Covers baking science, techniques, and fundamentals that a sous chef needs even outside a dedicated pastry role.
Domain 4: Nutrition
Aligned with the mandatory Nutrition course, this domain tests dietary principles and how nutrition knowledge applies to menu planning and food preparation.
Domain 5: Finance
Covers cost control, purchasing, and the financial literacy a kitchen supervisor needs to manage food cost and labor within a budget.
Domain 6: Team Management and Supervision
Reflects the Supervisory Management course requirement - leadership, scheduling, and staff development concepts a shift or station supervisor must apply daily.
Cooking and Safety and Sanitation together account for 62 of the 100 questions - nearly two-thirds of the exam. That doesn't mean you can ignore the other four domains, but it does mean your study hours should be weighted accordingly. For a question-by-question breakdown of each domain's likely topics, see our CSC Exam Domains 2026 guide.
| Domain | Known Question Count | Relative Priority |
|---|---|---|
| Cooking | 37 | Highest |
| Safety and Sanitation | 25 | High |
| Baking and Pastry | Not specified | Moderate |
| Nutrition | Not specified | Moderate |
| Finance | Not specified | Moderate |
| Team Management and Supervision | Not specified | Moderate |
The Practical Examination
Once the written exam is passed, candidates move to the practical examination - a 2-hour, hands-on assessment scored against a 75% passing criterion. This is where cooking theory gets translated into execution: technique, timing, plating, and sanitation practices under observation. Practical results are valid for one year, a shorter window than the written score's two-year validity, so many candidates schedule their practical relatively soon after passing the written exam rather than letting time lapse.
Because the practical happens at an approved host site, candidates should also budget for host-site and food expenses separately from the certification package fee - these are real, additional costs that aren't bundled into the base pricing.
Registration, Fees, and Package Costs
ACF prices the CSC certification package at USD 250 for ACF members and USD 490 for nonmembers. That fee covers the certification package itself; it does not include practical exam host-site fees or the cost of food/ingredients you'll need to supply for the practical. If you're weighing ACF membership against nonmember pricing, the math often favors joining before you register, especially if you plan to recertify later and might qualify for waived recertification fees as a continuous member.
For a complete line-item cost breakdown - including how membership status changes your total spend - see CSC Certification Cost 2026. And if you're still deciding whether the investment is worth it relative to your career goals, our CSC ROI analysis looks at that question directly.
Certification Validity and Renewal
Once earned, CSC certification lasts five years. Renewal isn't automatic - it requires 80 continuing education hours (CEHs), with at least 25% of those hours coming from volunteer work, leadership activities, or culinary competitions rather than passive coursework alone. Renewal also requires current food-safety training and any applicable refresher courses tied to your original mandatory coursework.
One practical financial note: recertification fees are waived for members who maintain uninterrupted ACF membership throughout the preceding five years. That's a meaningful incentive to keep membership active rather than letting it lapse and re-joining later.
Who Hires CSC-Certified Cooks
Because CSC certification verifies supervisory-level cooking competency, sanitation knowledge, and management basics all at once, it tends to matter most in kitchens where a cook is expected to run a station or shift independently. That includes hotel and resort kitchens, country clubs, healthcare and institutional food service, full-service independent restaurants, and corporate dining operations - environments where a title like "sous chef" comes with real accountability for food cost, staff, and consistency, not just cooking output.
Employers in these settings often view ACF certification as a signal that a candidate has been tested on more than technique - the Finance and Team Management and Supervision domains in particular reflect skills that separate a strong line cook from someone ready to run a kitchen. If you're mapping certification to career outcomes, our CSC Salary Guide 2026 and CSC Jobs page both dig into how the credential shows up in job postings and compensation conversations.
Building a Realistic Prep Timeline
Generic study advice - flashcards, spaced repetition, practice blocks - only helps if it's mapped onto the actual weight of the CSC blueprint. Given that Cooking and Safety and Sanitation together make up 62 of 100 questions, a sensible prep sequence front-loads those two domains, then rotates through the remaining four in the weeks before your exam date.
Cooking Fundamentals
- Review heat transfer methods, protein cookery, and technique vocabulary
- Work through practice questions focused only on Domain 1
Safety and Sanitation
- Revisit your 30-hour Food Safety course material
- Drill temperature danger zones, holding times, and cross-contamination scenarios
Baking, Nutrition, Finance, Supervision
- Rotate through each remaining domain with shorter, focused sessions
- Use full-length timed practice exams to build 90-minute pacing stamina
If you want a more detailed week-by-week structure with specific resource recommendations, our CSC Study Guide 2026 expands this into a full plan. For candidates wondering how difficult the exam actually feels in practice compared to on-paper blueprint weights, How Hard Is the CSC Exam? and CSC Pass Rate 2026 both address that question using available data rather than guesswork.
Running full-length timed simulations on our practice test platform is one of the most direct ways to find out whether your pacing across 100 questions in 90 minutes actually holds up under exam conditions, rather than assuming it will based on untimed review alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. Full certification requires passing both the written exam and a separate 2-hour practical examination scored at 75%. This site's prep resources focus on the written portion.
Five years. Renewal requires 80 continuing education hours, with at least 25% from volunteer, leadership, or competition activities, plus current food-safety training.
Written results are valid for two years, giving you a window to schedule and pass the practical. Practical results themselves are only valid for one year once earned.
No. The CSC written exam is closed-book. Only a basic nonprogrammable calculator and scratch paper are permitted.
Yes. The certification package costs USD 250 for ACF members versus USD 490 for nonmembers, not including practical host-site and food expenses.